Wesleyanian staffers dominate Grub Street 2016

For four consecutive years, The Wesleyanian staffers were proclaimed again as this year’s overall champion in the Grub Street, an annual seminar-workshop on campus journalism hosted by The Researchers, the official student publication of Central Luzon State University (CLSU) Science High School, September 9-10,2016.

Headed by Mr. Joseph A. Villarama , the new school paper adviser of The Researcher, this two-day seminar-workshop was participated by 429 elementary and secondary campus journalists from different schools around Nueva Ecija.

The seminar was enlightened by the resource speakers Prof. Ben G. Domingo Jr. for Sports Writing, Science and Health Writing and Radio Broadcasting, Dr. Regidor G. Gaboy for Photojournalism, Collaborative Desktop Publishing and Editorial Cartooning, and Prof. Fely Rose V. Manaois for Feature Writing and Editorial Writing.

“You write to be read and understood. Always keep your readers in mind. Always write to express and not to impress,” Prof. Domingo stressed in his first lecture about science and health writing.

On the second day, after finishing all the categories, the awarding was held at the university auditorium.

The staffers who got 1st place were Caitlin Ann Sopongco (News Writing), Joshua G. Alamon (Sports Writing), Eunice Anne C. Langres (Science and Health Writing), Jewel Rose San Pedro (Pagsulat ng Lathalain), Jovelle G. Calipdan (Pagsulat ng Balita), and John Paul Fernandez (Pagsulat ng Balitang Isports).

The 2nd placers were Athina Bales (Feature Writing), and Jewel San Pedro (Pagsulat ng Balitang Agham at Pangkalusugan).

Staffers who were declared 3rd placers were Hannah Dela Cruz (Editorial Writing and Copy Reading and Headline Writing), Marina C. Cancio (Sports Writing), Kristine Mae Suarez (Pagsulat ng Balitang Isports), and Jovelle Kaye G. Calipdan (Pagwawasto ng Sipi at Pag-uulo ng Balita).

Moreover, Gwyneth P. Tigas (Photojournalism) and Jewel Rose San Pedro (Pagwawasto ng Sipi at Pag-uulo ng Balita) got 4th place while Joseph Sanchez (Photojournalism), Jacquilyn Macasaya (Pagwawasto ng Sipi at Pag-uulo ng Balita), and Diana Bautista (Kartung Pang-Editoryal) were declared 5th placers.

In the group categories, the Radio Broadcasting (English) team composed of Jan William B. Chua, Katrina Casabar, Stephanie bautista, Sheen Kahlie Sebastian, Garrie Walser, Honeylette Monce, and Ralph Jerome Yu and the Radio Broadcasting (Filipino) team composed of Patrick Rivera, Naomi Lameg, Ronel Tan, Nicole Jose, Sean Hashley Shayne Cariazo, and Alyssa Faustino both got 1st place.

Finally, the Collaborative Desktop Publishing (English) is composed of Monica Manalad, Juzelle Roxas, Juzette Roxas, Patricia Eugenio, Hans Campo, Mhark Reniel Cudal, and John Paul Fernandez and the Filipino category which consists of Angelito Arcilla, Aliyah Colmyrr Pascual, Diana Bautista, Renz Brian Bautista, Mariztella Faith Abad, Yushi Fujii, and Richelle Nerine Longalong both got 2nd place.

Mrs. Lydia Calipdan, the adviser of The Wesleyanian, proudly congratulated these campus journalists and boosted more their confidence to continue doing their best in their next competitions.

“Congratulations! You have proven once more that you are all indeed competent journalists. I want you to prepare yourselves more for your upcoming conferences. So, don’t stop from honing your skills in writing,” she said.

They felt very thankful and blessed because despite of the lack of time in their training due to the late opening of classes this school year, still, they were able to defend their title. #Eunice Anne Langres